Casey 3 Photo

Urban Landscape/Photo Journalist/Fine Art Photographer

Some New (and Exciting) Things!

I just noticed that my last Blog update was April 19th — that means I didn’t post a single blog in the month of May!! How inappropriate of me. The month of May was slow for me. I got a new job and it required me to work quite a few night shifts and that took up a good portion of time I would have loved to have dedicated to photography, but never fear, for I have returned, haha.

Last week I was asked by local singer/songwriter and friend of mine, Oren Barter, to take some photos to promote his upcoming tour. We used a great space in the Central Cariboo Arts and Culture Society building and this is what I came up with:

A few weeks ago, I ordered a Holga 120GN medium format camera from an online store in Hong Kong. For those who don’t know what a ‘Holga’ is, it’s simply a plastic toy camera. That’s right, a toy. They’re cheap, plastic and they take AMAZING photographs! Because of its limitations with 1 shutter speed (1/100th), two apertures (F/8 and F16) and problems with light leaks, the Holga produces ‘unpredictable’ dreamlike images. Some Holgas have a cheap plastic lens that creates a sharp middle, blurred surrounding and also have a strong vignetting around the edges. I bought a Holga that comes with a glass lens because I like sharper images. The Holga is also medium format, meaning that rather than 35mm cropped photos that you would normally get with an SLR, the images are 6×6, meaning they’re square. The reason I bought one is because rather than trying to create a mistake-ist look in Photoshop, I figured why not just go to the source and embrace the unpredictable beauty of the real deal? I haven’t had a chance to develop the film yet and hopefully within the next couple of weeks, I’ll be able to do that. This is by no means a ‘pro’ camera, and it’s advised that you do not solely use one for commercial or client work, but it’s certainly fun to have on the side for personal use.

In the next month or so, I’ll be getting a Photography Group established in town. The purpose is to not only create a group of like-minded people to get together with and talk photos, but also to create a community where people can talk business and marketing strategies, hold exhibitions, promote one another, host workshops and develop a stronger photography movement in the area. With the Central Cariboo Arts and Culture Society in town, I believe this is the time and place to take advantage of such a thing and it’s exciting! I’m hoping to get a few people interested and from there we can meet a couple of times a month and work out a plan that best suits everyone and they’re levels of skill and development.

Also, just finished some new Business Cards — I do have to credit Victoria, BC based designer Alain Champagne for the original design, which I did buy the rights to use.

Leave a Reply

