Casey 3 Photo

Urban Landscape/Photo Journalist/Fine Art Photographer

MTPWSY: Marie-Louise Collins

Who are you?
Marie-Louise Collins, 19 year old photographer from Kamloops.

Schooled or self-taught?
School taught me the basic functions of the camera and I have been learning through trial and error and consistent practice.

When did you first pick up a camera and the moment you just knew?
I first picked up a film based camera when I was probably 6 and used up almost all the rolls of film my parents had, haha. I loved seeing how they turned out and being reminded days later of events that passed. I knew I loved it as an art when I was 17 and took my “Dinner for One” self portrait. Since then I have fallen in love with photographers Tim Walker, Paolo Roversi and Annie Leibovitz.

What type of photography do you specialize in and why?
Editorial and conceptual

Favorite lens and why?
Prime 24-105mm lens mostly because the versatility of the lens. But since I have been in Italy, I have been using the 50mm 1.8 lens and love the bokeh it creates.

Who are your influences? And if you had one question to ask them, it would be ….. ?
Major influence is Tim Walker, hands down.ย  My question would be: how did you get started and convince people that your work was worth investment/publishing.

Ideal gig would be ….
Photo shoot in a Castle for an editorial spread in either Elle, Vogue or Numero magazine with beautiful dresses and Tim Walker as my assistant ๐Ÿ™‚ One can dream ๐Ÿ˜‰

If there is any advice, whether it be camera or business related, it would be … Have faith in yourself, try new things and have fun in whatever it is you do because it is not worth it if you aren’t.

-Marie-Louise C.
www.marie-louise.ca

Leave a Reply

