Casey 3 Photo

Urban Landscape/Photo Journalist/Fine Art Photographer

MTPWSY: When Shutters Click//Natalie Woods

Who are you?

Natalie Woods

Schooled or self-taught?

A bit of both. I got my first DSLR at the age of 16 and taught myself via online resources and books before taking a photography course at Victoria Highschool in my graduating year. Since then, I’ve taken workshops and have picked the brains of fellow photographers, such as Jon Faulknor and Scott Alexander. I’ve considered schooling, but for now I prefer the hands on approach vs the classroom setting.

When did you first pick up a camera and the moment you just knew?

My family and I are drawn to expressing ourselves creativity, but I hadn’t found an outlet that felt right. I had taken painting lessons on and off for years, but didn’t enjoy it. I wasn’t musically included like my older brother, nor have I ever been great with words like my mother, but when I got my first camera it was like something “clicked” in my brain.  I was 15 and it was a simple point & shoot, nothing fancy but it wasn’t long before I was driving my friends nuts taking photographs! I had never taken photos before and dreaded having them taken of myself, but I fell in love with taking them! I was severely limited with the camera I had but I got a job, saved up, and got my first DSLR, a Canon D30, when I was 16. I haven’t looked back since.

What type of photography do you specialize in and why?

I specialize in Portraits and I think I do because I love change. With portrait photography, your backgrounds change and your subjects change. You can experiment, have fun and meet people you might not otherwise have had the chance to. I’m actually quite shy most of the time, but when I’m with a client that all changes, I’m comfortable being outgoing and cracking jokes to make them smile and relax…I love it. I don’t think I’d get the same satisfaction or enjoyment out of photography if I focused solely on still-life.

Favorite lens and why?

I’m probably going to get some eye-rolls for this but honestly, my 50mm f/1.8. I’ve switched from Canon to Nikon and have upgrade a few times, but no matter what I always make sure I have a 50mm lens before anything else. I think one main reason is that it was my first lens ever, so it was part of my beginning. While I enjoy using other lenses and drool over some of the more experience, out of my reach lenses, I find I come back to it time and time again.

Who are your influences? And if you had one question to ask them, it would be ….. ?

I could lie and make up some influences, but honestly there isn’t anyone in particular I could place under that category. While I admire many photographers, some that I know personally and some that are strangers to me for their work, I don’t know that I could go so far as to call them influences in the true meaning of the word. That probably makes me sound like I think I’m too high and mighty to have any influences, but trust me that’s not the case at all. Ha-ha.

Ideal gig would be ….

I’ve never really taken the time to think about it, but I think my ideal gig would just be something that challenges me; something that would take me out of my comfort zone to get me nervous and excited at the same time but in the end, teach me something new. I know that sounds pretty boring to most and that you can challenge yourself but I don’t think I could do it in a way that a project I had no part in creating could.

If there is any advice, whether it be camera or business related, it would be ….

Be professional, but learn how to make any situation comfortable for yourself and your client. Most importantly, have confidence in yourself and your work. It’s hard to make your clients have confidence you will do a good job, if you don’t have confidence in yourself.

 

Leave a Reply

