Casey 3 Photo

Urban Landscape/Photo Journalist/Fine Art Photographer

Meet the People Who Shoot You: Shane Deringer

Who are you?

Shane Deringer / Photography

Schooled or self-taught?

Self taught

When did you first pick up a camera and the moment you just knew?

The first camera I ever had was a film point and shoot camera my Dad gave me when I was about 15 but the moment I knew I was hooked was when I started taking photos of my first child, Joshua. As soon as I started taking pictures of these once in a lifetime moments of my family I couldn’t stop and once I started being able to do the same for other people I knew I wanted to be a photographer.


What type of photography do you specialize in and why?

I feel like I don’t specialize in exactly one area. I started with surf and landscape photography, moved to children and now photograph people everywhere and at any time of their lives. My main loves for what makes me feel good are definitely weddings and maternity sessions. I definitely strive to photograph people in their element, whatever it may be.

Favorite lens and why?

This is a very tough question to answer. All of my lenses have a purpose and I switch regularly. For general use though I would say that my 24-70 is my most relied upon lens. Very sharp and always dependable.

Who are your influences? And if you had one question to ask them, it would be ….. ?

I have many influences for my photography. I would say without a doubt that my influences are all wedding photographers. I feel like a wedding photographer really has to learn how to use all aspects of available light, as well as off camera flash photography. Right now my influences for consistency and lighting are Tony Hoffer (Photography), style BENJ HAISCH (photography) and Sergio Mottola (Photography) and just plain beauty is Kate MacPherson (Photography). There are far too many to actually name, and there are a lot of locals I look up to for various reasons. A few that I follow often are Jon-Mark Wiltshire (Photography), E/A Photography and Karen McNeil (Photography). <—- all of the preceeding are talented photographers and amazing people.

Ideal gig would be ….

Doing what I’m doing, hopefully full time. Shooting it all, weddings, concerts, people…This is a fulfilling job and it would be amazing to be so blessed as to be able to do this full time.

If there is any advice, whether it be camera or business related, it would be ….

Camera related – if you have a dSLR turn it on then switch it off of P mode. Learn your camera.

Business – Hustle, organize your files from the beginning and shoot what you love. And Good luck.

Leave a Reply

