Casey 3 Photo

Urban Landscape/Photo Journalist/Fine Art Photographer

Meet the People Who Shoot You: Jonathan Bell

Who are you?

Jonathan Andrew Bell

Schooled or self-taught?

Technically, “self-taught” but I assisted a LOT in Milan, Italy and Toronto, Ontario. I worked with photographers of all levels and I learned something from every one.

When did you first pick up a camera and the moment you just knew?

I really liked using an Olympus Trip 35 that my step mom gave to me along with various disposable cameras before that. It was grade ten or so. Then one Christmas, I got my first fully manual 35mm SLR. I shot three rolls of film Christmas day. At first, I wanted to be a skateboarding photographer. Pretty romantic story, eh?

What type of photography do you specialize in and why?

Fashion. I kinda just fell into shooting it. I like photojournalism a lot but I need to find the right story to pursue. I have an idea. I would like to travel to the arctic and photograph the people there. People and humanity will always always always be my subject. Models or not, I love people.


Favorite lens and why?

Oh man… I don’t know. If I choose one, then the others will get jealous.

Who are your influences? And if you had one question to ask them, it would be ….. ?

Darren McDonald, Hedi Slimane, Jonathan Waiter. How?

Ideal gig would be ….

I’d like to be sent to the north of Canada to photograph and document the people and ways of life there. I’d like to connect Canadians more, make them realize their differences but more so their similarities.

If there is any advice, whether it be camera or business related, it would be ….

Love it or hate it the fact is, photographers don’t stop taking pictures.

http://credittocreation.jonathanbell.ca/

*some images NSFW

 

Leave a Reply

