Casey 3 Photo

Urban Landscape/Photo Journalist/Fine Art Photographer

Graduated Filters

I’ve been watching more tutorials and having fun putting what I’ve learned to use. This time I was curious what the “Graduated Filter” tool in Lightroom was. I’ve never put it to use and saw someone on Youtube explain it to me, I went “Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh”. Here is a photo of Charlotte I shot in some field we found on our way to the beach. Notice how the sky is a bit faded and those pesky spots are a result of having a dirty sensor. The photo is well composed, I used an off camera flash gun and the sun as fill light. However, everything seems flat and I want to make her stand out more.
DSC_0120-2

As you can see here, I’ve cropped it a bit to close in on her more. I used the graduated filter to darken the background and bring some life to the sky. Also, those pesky spots have gone. I’ve been growing more confident with color adjustments, saturations and hues. It’s still not 100%, but I d feel like I’m developing an eye for this.DSC_0120

Leave a Reply

